And we’ll do it our way, yes our way, Make all our dreams come true.

My life is in a very strange place right now.  Not a bad place, but a strange one, to be sure.  There are things that aren’t so good.  Finding work has been problematic.  But I’ve managed to find some people I can do jobs for to earn a bit, and I’ve been pruning some collections I have of extra things of value and I’m covering my bases for the moment.  I’m not making progress, but I’m not sinking deeper.  And I’m using this time to start something major.

I’m a little hesitant to talk about this, even here, where few people will ever see it.  Mostly I don’t want to hype anything too much just yet.  If this starts, there will be lots of hyping, lots of trying to raise attention.  I just want to get it a little farther along.  But I can get the basics out here for anyone who might care.

It started with a funny, cute comment a cool trans girl I follow on twitter had.  She’s one of those young, super flirty types, and she said she wished she could start a trans commune for all the cute trans girls she’s friends with on twitter.  And I chimed in that it sounded great, and I’d be happy to do the cooking (because I really love cooking for other people.)  And it was fun, and we laughed.  But something about the idea stuck in my head.

Over the course of that day, I ruminated on if I won the lottery, even more than a bakery right now, I’d want to open a boarding house for trans people.  There’s so much hate, and so many young trans people who are homeless, or afraid to come out because their safety isn’t guaranteed.  And I said this on several social media sites, and everyone was like, that would be awesome.  And everyone loved the idea.  But it didn’t end there.

I kept thinking more and more about what it would take.  And I thought, maybe this can be done.  A couple friends suggested crowd funding to raise money, buy or put a down payment on a house, and do it.  And then a few others suggested reaching out to major donors and lgbt groups, some fund raising.  And something strange happened, I felt energized.  I wanted to look into this idea.  I didn’t really think it was likely, but if I didn’t look, it definitely couldn’t happen, right?

So I decided one of the most important things I would need is help.  I know I have a problem with my depression and procrastination, I tend to lose focus even though I really want to do something (I’ve been talking to several people with Dysthymia/Persistent Depressive Disorder and this is a very common symptom.)  So I knew if I really was going to do this, I needed help.  So I started to think about who might be a good partner.

So I was telling a friend of mine, and not only was she and her wife both extremely supportive, they also really wanted to be a part of this.  And it turns out they have both skills and resources that can go a very long way towards making this a reality.  One of them has connections with the Random Acts group, and fund raising groups.  They also have a sizable area of land owned by their family.  They were planning to tear down due to age and build something new.  So this would be a great chance to turn it into something new.  I reached out to a couple more friends from my support group who have a history of social work and committing to projects.  And we made a team!

One of the things I love most about this group is this:  Of the 5 adults who make up this team, 4 are trans, and the 5 is the wife of one of the trans people and their son is also trans.  So this is literally us, our people, trying to do something to help our community.  We are standing up to take care of ourselves and help those that need it.  If this works, if we can do this (and this is something needed, there are no good trans inclusive support systems in KC right now,) we could save lives.

I’ve switched to looking for temporary work as if this happens, I’m going to be a house mom.  I will be one of the live in people, taking care of the people staying.  It’s so exciting to think about what this could do for people.  And I’m so happy to use one of the skills I’ve always had but never utilized well:  Connecting people.  I’ve always been good at connecting to people, and connecting people to others.  I have connections in the trans community, not the most famous, but people who do know some of the most famous members.  There are so many in the community who want to help, and I really feel optimistic about this.

So yeah, that’s what’s going on.  I really want to figure out a way to do this.  We need this!

Leave a Reply

