When I Look At You (A Poem)

When I Look At You

A vision of purest beauty,
A beacon across the dark,
A butterfly finding its wings,
A fire awaiting its spark,
When I look at you.

A call from a kindred spirit,
A battered but recovering soul,
All the hardships and the triumphs,
A chance at feeling whole.
When I look at you.

I wonder how your lips taste,
How your hand would feel in mine,
If I could make you happy,
I hope to know in time,
When I think of you.

A promise of honest caring,
With friendship at its core,
A life of true acceptance,
All of that and more,
That I’d give to you.

(For E)

Leave a Reply

