The Words of Others: A Dialog

D: I can’t sleep, I lay awake and I think,
The night is hot and black as ink,
Oh God, I need a drink of cool, cool rain.

R: Sometimes you’ll drown it out with all your rage and thunder,
Sometimes you’ll drown it out with all your tears.
There’ll come a time when you hear it and you’ll wonder,
Where in the world have I been?

Fuck this hurts, I won’t lie,
Doesn’t matter how hard I try,
Half the words don’t mean a thing,
And I know that I won’t be satisfied.

Do you collect the souls you’ve lost,
In the top of your dresser drawer?
Count the number of tears displaced,
On lonely bedroom floors?

The pain has a bad reaction.
A blend, of fear and passion…
It makes me wanna scream.

I don’t understand if you really care,
I’m only here in negative.

I want to laugh, I want to smile,
Get your arms inside my head,
And stop me thinking for a while.

How much longer will I try,
before you realize I’m desperate in the situation,
that I’m in again?

I think I’ll keep you,
In a place where I can see you,
But I know I’ll break you like before,
And I just can’t do this anymore.

Can’t you see it’s misery,
And torture for me,
When I’m misunderstood?
Try as hard as you can,
I’ve tried as hard as I could,
To make you see,
How important it is for me.

So blame it on the night,
Don’t blame it on me,
Don’t blame it on me.

You never let my voice through and wonder while I cry.
Maybe that’s the sound of a woman,
Maybe that’s the sound that her heart makes,
When she’s crying out to the one man,
Chaining her to love that she can’t escape.
You would understand if you listen,
You wouldn’t find her eyes focused on the door,
Maybe that’s the sound of a woman,
Begging you to try just a little more.

I can’t shake this little feeling,
I’ll never say anything right.

I don’t mean to close the door,
But for the record my heart is sore.
You blew through me like bullet holes,
Left stains on my sheets and stains on my soul.

You take the breath right out of me,
You left a hole where my heart should be,
You got to fight just to make it through,
’cause I will be the death of you.

I need to feel my soul come alive,
I need to feel the strength to get by.
I need a little, I need a little faith,
Is that too much to ask for?

Take me, take me back to your bed,
I love you so much that it hurts my head.
I don’t mind you under my skin,
I’ll let the bad parts in, the bad parts in.
Well you’re my favourite bird and when you sing,
I really do wish you’d wear my ring.

Never took your side, never cursed your name,
I keep my lips shut tight, until you go, oh.
We’ve come as far as we’re ever gonna get,
Until you realize, that you should go, oh.

All that I feel is the realness I’m faking.

I can’t see much of a future,
Unless we find out what’s to blame,
What a shame.
And we won’t be together much longer,
Unless we realize that we are the same.

And this is supposed to match,
The darkness that you felt,
I never meant for you to fix yourself.

You are the night time fear,
You are the morning when it’s clear,
When it’s over you’re the start,
You’re my head, you’re my heart.

I want you to know who I really am,
I never thought I’d feel this way towards you,
And if you ever need someone to come along,
I will follow you, and keep you strong.

All these thoughts locked inside,
Now you’re the first to know.

I don’t need no love song,
To make it real,
I saw you coming,
And this is how I feel.
The truth it can be painful,
It hurts to be told,
The song is almost over,
And it’s time to move on.

The way is long but you can make it easy on me.

Deep in side you here you say,
Live your life and walk away.
Don’t wait any longer,
Cause it won’t make you stronger,
Live your life and walk away.

Leave a Reply

