The waiting is the hardest part, Every day you see one more card, You take it on faith, you take it to the heart, The waiting is the hardest part.

Yesterday was a very good day for me in a lot of ways.  A few small annoyances, but overall a very good day.  I started with school, which was annoying because my teacher is dumb and shouldn’t be a teacher.  But I used the opportunity to work on my handwriting, because I have terrible handwriting and I’ve been wanting to work on it, so I did.

After school I had an appointment with my counselor, and that was great.  I really enjoyed talking with her and at the end she recommended moving forward with my transition.  What that means is I was given a letter to take into a local doctor and I’ll start HRT!  I’m super excited about this because I was worried it might take a little bit longer before I could start.  After I left her office the very first thing I did was call to make my appointment.

This led to my biggest disappointment, which is they had no open days in the next week, and the only one the week after I have an appointment I cannot get out of.  So now I have to wait for the first week of May to start.  It’s wonderful finally having a date to start this major step in my transition, I just have always hated waiting.

But my day rebounded a bit as when I got home I had a check waiting from the government.  Getting a tax credit has helped me relieve a major stress, that being how I would pay for the initial cost of seeing the doctor.  I don’t have insurance, so everything is out of pocket for me, and going to school has impacted just how much I can work as well.

I think I might even have enough to get some new glasses, which I need since the last time I got new ones was 7 years ago.  There’s a local place that advertises 2 pairs with their least expensive frames and an eye exam for about $70.  I’m considering going in tomorrow/today and doing just that.  If I do, I’m going to get a pair of unisex frames to wear for now, and definitely a feminine pair.  I may need to wait to go clothes shopping to allow my body time to change, but glasses being a necessity, I figure it’s a good place to start looking ahead at my apparel.

16 days to go.

Leave a Reply

