Cause you know I love the players, And you love the game.

Tonight was my (mostly) weekly Dungeons and Dragons game.  Gaming has been an important part of my life for a very long time.  I started around 15 with Magic: the Gathering, which I totally still love.  It’s important to note when I speak about gaming in this sense I’m referring exclusively to table top role playing games, card games and board games.  I’ve been playing video games even longer, but that’s a topic for another time.

Role playing has been some of the best therapy in my life.  I stopped for most of a year once due to a job where I couldn’t consistently have a Wednesday night off, and it is some of the most miserable time of my life.  It should come as no surprise that someone with serious issues with themselves would welcome a chance to be someone else, even just for a little bit.  It should also be pointed out that the majority of my characters have been female.  This has always been a safe place to express myself in this manner.

My gaming group has always been an important part of my life.  I’ve always enjoy the social aspect of gaming, and it’s a huge part of why I keep doing it.  I’ve talked about getting a sense of self from others and this is no exception, but I think this has often been a more healthy one compared to things like my relationships.  My gaming groups have always been a place of friends and closeness, of playful teasing and shared enjoyment.  Which is why I was extremely important that my gaming group was among the first people I came out to.

Like everyone else I’ve told about being trans, they accepted me and mostly have been supportive.  They will be among the first people I spend time with in femme appearance.  I’m not there yet, but I’m getting closer each day.  Gaming is also something I feel I will need to share with any potential partners in my life.  Which is why the person I’ve been seeing a little is a gamer as well.  I hope I might introduce her to my group eventually.

And on the subject of being transgender in gaming, there’s this wonderful bit of the gaming community I need to share.  While not everywhere, most of the gaming world is very supportive of the LGBT community.  Gen Con, the biggest gaming convention in North America was one of the first to publicly protest the Indiana law that would have legalized discrimination.   Wizards of the Coast, makers of both Magic and modern D&D are leading the forefront in being inclusive with it’s characters.  For example there’s this awesome little story about a character from one of the most recent magic sets, who just so happens to be explicitly trans.  It’s a wonderful read if you’re into fantasy fiction.

http://magic.wizards.com/en/articles/archive/uncharted-realms/truth-names-2015-01-28

One thought on “Cause you know I love the players, And you love the game.

  1. Gaming in any of its forms, is so fucking amazing. Not only is it theraputic, but it gets you out there socially and ya know.. it’s also fucking awesome. Love your work, and I am looking forward to reading posts both in the past and in the future!
    XO Yannie

    Like

Leave a Reply

