Do what you want, do what you want to. Say what you want, to who you want to. Be what you want, be what you want to. Love what you want, love who you want to.

The value of appearance is a funny thing.  We place so much importance in how we look.  I would be fallacious, perhaps down right hypocritical, of me to pretend like looks don’t matter to me.  The fact is they do, just like they do to everyone to some degree.  I think bigger people can still be sexy, but I don’t find extremely obese people attractive.  I like certain types of bodies on men and women more than others.  I find trans women to often be some of the most beautiful people on the planet, for example.  These things are perfectly natural.

From a genetic/biological level they’re traits I’d want to pass on to offspring.  That’s not likely to happen, and so it’s a little easier for me to game the system in that regards.  From a sociological level it’s interesting because I’m not concerned with things like ethnicity.  I think there are beautiful people in every culture and have dated a rainbow of humanity.  I take a little pride in that, but I don’t know if that’s right or not.  I will say I’ve been turned down simply because I’m Caucasian, so I know the sting of that being the reason for rejection.

The simple fact of the matter is that my looks matter to me.  Just like yours do to you, and everyone’s do to themselves.  I want to be cute, I want to be pretty, I want to be feminine.  I recently saw just how femme my face can look in the mirror and it filled me with a hope I’d not had for a very long time.  Once I can truly begin the hormone stage of transition, I will probably have a face I find attractive.

I shaved my legs yesterday for the first time in 3 years.  I forgot just how much work it is, especially that initial shave (which uses up pretty much a whole razor head.)  But my legs now feel soft and smooth and it makes me feel good, feel a little bit more attractive.  This is just how it makes me feel, how I want to look.  I think hairy women and men can be just as attractive as hairless ones.

I think what I find most attractive is being yourself.  I’ve dated people who’ve shaved almost their entire body, and I’ve dated people who’ve never had a razor on their skin.  What’s important is finding the place you feel attractive and getting yourself there.  Don’t let others tell you how to look, but look how you want to.  There’s nothing wrong with wanting to be sexy, just do it for you!  That’s why I am and for the first time in a very long time, I’m starting to like the way I look, (without the help of George Zimmer!)

Leave a Reply

